I Wonder What It Would Be Like To Be a Tree?

Last year my son L.D. came up with this concept and asked me to turn it into a story. Here is the result of our collaboration.

from phone 207

A tree stands tall in a field, and every now and then it drops a leaf on the flowers below. The tree thinks, “I wonder what it would

be like to be a flower?” After ten years the field is cleared for housing. The tree is felled, up-rooted and removed. It returns as

a flower, never knowing it was once a tree. The flower sits in a garden, adding to its beauty to its surroundings. A bee lands on

the flower to pollinate and the flower thinks, “I wonder what it would be like to be, a bee?” The woman tending the garden

moves away. The garden dries up, the flower is no more. It returns as a bee, never knowing it was once a flower. The bee

buzzes along and one day it gets chased by a dog and the bee thinks, “I wonder what it would be like to be a dog?” The bee

eventually mates and it dies. It returns as a dog, never knowing it had once been a bee. The dog is out walking one day with its

master. The master is whistling, and singing a song. The master throws a stick and commands the dog to fetch it. As the dog

carries the stick back to his master, the dog thinks, “I wonder what it would be like to be a human?” The dog lives a hundred

years in human years before he dies. The dog returns as a man, never knowing he was once a dog. The man goes along,

living his life. He works, marries, raises a family and retires. One day he is relaxing under a tall tree in a field. A leaf drops into

his lap. He looks up at all the leaves and the man thinks, “I wonder what it would be like to be a tree.

9 thoughts on “I Wonder What It Would Be Like To Be a Tree?

  1. The ability to wonder. It is wonderful. 🙂 I am sitting here wondering how many times I have thought, “I wonder what it would be like …… ” Probably more than once a day. 🙂
    A retired elementary teacher of 20 years…. I can imagine reading this story to my class. And after discussing etc etc…they would have a writing project: Wonder what it would be like to be something else, do a bit of research and imagining and then write a little bit of what it would be like to be something else. LOL They could wonder what it would be like to be a living thing or an inanimate object.
    OH WELL. 🙂 I get a bit carried away with wondering.
    I like your tree picture too.

    1. My son was just as pleased with your comments as I was. We have plans to add illustrations. I posted this on two other sites last year and forgot about the illustrations. Your comments reminded me of pictures. Thank you for your great comments.

      1. Yes, the illustrations would really add to the book. I hope you can post some of them. I am wondering how old your son is.
        Just wondering. 🙂

      2. My son is grown, married with children, just still has the amazing ability to imagine like a child. Some people say we lose that part of our imagination as we age, but I know we don’t, otherwise there’d be no Disneyland, or fairy tales, or Pixar etc.

Leave a Reply

