My Love

My Love
My phone makes a noise when a message comes through
I check every time in case it’s from you
Right now you’re away in some faraway place, so
I close my eyes and I picture your face
I whisper your name and hope that you hear
I squeeze my pillow and pretend that you’re near
I look out my window at the stars up above, and
Ask for your safety “please protect my love”
I try not to cry, I try to be strong
I listen and listen to your favorite song
Forever and for always you’ll stay in my heart
Despite all the miles that keep us apart
Forever and for always, these words are so true
Forever and for always I’ll be in love with you.

Leave a Reply

